Loot Crate

Because I’m always looking for more excuses to buy miscellaneous geeky apparel and decorations for my as-yet-to-be-acquired office, I decided to sign up for Loot Crate, one of those monthly surprise box services that promises to deliver

“crates of awesome to those that live and embrace the geek and gaming lifestyle.”

I figured I could justify it by reviewing and critiquing each box as it arrives, looking at how corporations hope to “brand” the geek “lifestyle” as a form of conspicuous consumption.

Plus, I want to get a bunch of new toys in the mail every month.

November’s box theme is Battle and they promise to deliver collectibles from two of my favorite old school games: Mega Man and Street Fighter.

Can’t wait to see what is in store!

Leave a Reply

